Set your location's open and close times

Updated Aug 26, 2020

In TimeForge, "Open and Close Times" are an optional safety net for your daily labor costs and ultimately payroll. By entering an open or close time, you are telling TimeForge when your "day" actually starts and ends. For example, if you have an open time of 8:00 AM, and an employee clocks in at 5:00 AM, their attendance will be recorded on the previous day. This is because TimeForge believes the current day won't begin until 8:00 AM. On the other hand, if your close time is set to be 10:00 PM, and an employee clocks out at midnight, their attendance will be recorded on the next day.

The "Open and Close Times" should not be the same times as your hours of operation if there is a chance your employees would work outside of those hours. In any case, it is good to allow for extra time in case your employees ever are outside of that range.

Here is how you can easily view and change your open and close times.

Go to the "Attendance Options" page.

Go to the "Attendance Options" page.
  • Log in
  • Hover over the "Attendance" tab
  • Click "Attendance Options"

Note: These options are also available on the "Attendance Options" page. Either place you make the changes will update the settings on the other page.

View your "Open and Close Times".

View your "Open and Close Times".

If you want to use Open and Close Times, Use the time you tell your employees to show up for their shift to the time everyone goes home. If for any reason your attendance appears on the wrong day but falls between your open and close times, call us, and we'll get the issue resolved.

Note: If you make any changes to the Open or Close Times, be sure to scroll down to the bottom of the page and click "Save".

Previous Article Edit an employee's break
Next Article Turn attendance tracking on or off for salaried employees

Still need help?

Contact Us